Music is my inspiration

Again its 3 in the morning and I can’t sleep so time for another post while I listen to Dolly Parton on YouTube hehe!

I have found that since starting this spiritual journey I find I keep being brought back to music and dance. When you think of spirituality you think of meditation, sitting for hours on end in silence, but the more I learn the more I find that being with people, singing for joy, dancing, loving, that is what inspires me.

My boyfriend took me to an open mic night he plays at regularly on Sunday and it just blew me away! The people there, just being able to get up and not only play their own songs but just improvise, have a jam and make anything up on the spot…that is pure talent! The pub didn’t shut until 12 as everyone was loving the music so much we didn’t want it to end!

I have had a lot of trouble with confidence to do with singing. I used to love it, it meant everything to me. I wanted to be a singer and I would sit for hours in my room making up lyrics, playing guitar and recording. When I went to college however everything changed, I had pretty low self-esteem so my singing teacher did me no favours. She was really harsh and critical so when I got on stage I couldn’t relax and enjoy the moment knowing it was being recorded to be judged and graded. I’ve barely sung since and its a shame I’ve spent so much time putting myself down.

At the open mike night all I could think was “I wish I could get up there” as I do at any gig I go to….well what is stopping me? Only myself! I think its time to battle my fears and turn over a fresh leaf. So tomorrow I will be tuning my dusty but still rather beautiful fender strat and get down to business once more, I’ve got some catching up to do :)

Has any one else noticed by the way the music coming out at the moment? It’s really nice to see some positive uplifting songs that you just want to play over and over again! Songs like Owl City-fireflies (and any other owl city song!), Cheryl Cole- Fight for this love, Leona Lewis- I see you, the lyrics are so inspiring and just embody what it is to be joyful.

Music really is a magical healing thing, it has the power to directly share your emotions with anyone who is listening, bring people together to connect as a group, inspire people to be courageous in their lives.

I turned to psychology as a possible career because I wanted to help people, but I am starting to learn that there are many different ways to inspire and help people. Whether it’s with your words, writing, support, love, music, art…the possibilities really are endless.

This life is ours to live so why not make it beautiful :)

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Rose says:

    You know my thoughts on music and singing :P
    If you want to run anything by me either for -just picking out the good bits or – giving an honest critque of the bits in need of improvement or just – encouragement without specific good/bad you know where I am :) What I’ve heard of your singing is pretty darn good =)

  2. That’s great. Music is a great emotional outlet and a wonderful best friend for many years to come.

    1. Thankyou, I like the idea of music not only being a hobby but a friend too :) Good luck with your music teaching, it sounds like you have a really lovely job inspiring people of all ages and having fun! xyx

Leave a Reply

